Databases
Need help finding information? Contact the Library’s Reference Department. 860.584.7787 x4
A to Z: World Food
Designed for culinary institutes, students, world travelers, cooking clubs, adventurous eaters, and anyone who wants to learn about world cuisine, A to Z World Food offers more than 7,000 traditional recipes from 174 countries, along with thousands of ingredient, food culture, and reference articles.
A to Z: World Travel
With 202 world city travel guides covering pre-trip planning, points of interest, excursions, neighborhoods, restaurants, nightlife, as well as health and safety, A to Z World Travel is perfect for anyone who wants to prepare for their trip abroad.
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
Ancestry is available on-site at the Bristol Pubic Library or the Manross Branch.
Auto Repair Source
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
DigitalLearn.org
If you are new to computers, haven’t used them for a while, are a little unsure and uncomfortable, or just need a bit of a refresher, we have the tools to help you tackle technology at your own pace and gain the confidence you need to succeed.
Driving-Tests.org
Study for automotive, motorcycle, or CDL licenses with free permit practice tests written by experts! Great for new drivers or just as a refresher course, DMV Permit Test also supports those seeking a career in commercial driving.
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library is a highly-acclaimed eLearning solution that provides support to students and professionals for academic skill-building, standardized test prep, career certification test prep and more.
JobNow
Powered by Brainfuse, JobNow provides live, interactive online help combined with online resources to help you get a job. A “resume lab” and live, online job coaches help jobseekers strategically target suitable jobs and
prepare and practice for job interviews.
The Adult Learning Center provides foundational, career-enhancing skills to adult learners through test preparation (including the GED and the U.S. Citizenship Test) and features live, online academic tutors for writing assistance, computer literacy, and basic software assistance.
Enjoy unlimited articles and Access exclusive features and newsletters, along with early access to new media releases.
ResearchIT: Connecticut’s Research Engine
researchIT CT offers free online resources as a service of the CT State Library. Here you will find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles for Connecticut public, K12, and academic libraries and their users.
Salem Press Research Databases
The Salem Press Research Databases provide remote online access to several reference works in the library’s collection, in the following subjects:
Health | History | Literature | Science
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Small Engine Repair Reference Center offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly) and allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers. PDF full text is available for all documents.
Transparent Language
Explore a new language at the library, at home, or on the go using any Internet-connected device! Available in 110+ languages, including ESL, learners have the flexibility they need to learn a new language anytime, anywhere.
Universal Class
UniversalClass™ offers hundreds of online classes. Why not learn something new? Use your library card to sign up today!
The Wall Street Journal
Access The Wall Street Journal from anywhere! Simply click the link above to create your account, and you can start using wsj.com immediately. Your access will be available for the next 3 days. After 3 days, come back and click the above link again and login as an existing user with the same username and password you originally created.
*Access is for Bristol Public Library cardholders only; sign-on credentials may not be shared.
Need help finding information? Contact the Library’s Reference Department.
860.584.7787 x4